Trump signs executive order banning immigration from countries with terrorism links

President Donald Trump signed an executive order Monday that bars immigration from six Muslim-majority countries with “terrorist” ties.

“We will not accept those who would seek to use their faith for nefarious purposes,” Trump said at the signing.

“We will deny visas and other immigration benefits to individuals who engage in these dangerous practices.”

Trump’s executive order, which takes effect Wednesday, bars entry for citizens of Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for 90 days.

Those who fail to leave the country will be detained for up to 90 days and deported.

Trump’s order comes a day after the White House released a new list of more than 60 countries on the list, including some with high terrorist activity.

It’s the first time since 2001 that Trump has sought to impose a blanket ban on immigration from these countries.

Trump also signed an order that bans federal funding to international organizations that support or promote terrorism, unless they are authorized to do so by Congress.

The order bans U.S. funding for the Islamic Society of North America, the Council on American-Islamic Relations, the Islamic Circle of North American, and the Muslim American Society of America.

The White House did not immediately respond to a request for comment.